Welcome to the new and improved Orbit Records!
Cart 0
Primal Scream - Give Out But Don't Give Up; The Original Memphis Recordings 3 LPs

Primal Scream - Give Out But Don't Give Up; The Original Memphis Recordings 3 LPs

$ 49.99

Artist: The Cars |  Label: Elektra | Format: 2xLP  |  Genre: Rock | Vinyl Condition: New |  Cover Condition: SEALED 

Primal Scream
Give Out But Don’t Give Up (The Original Memphis Recordings)
Run Out Groove 114

*This is the first US release on vinyl!
*3LP set includes two additional LPs of bonus outtakes, making their debut on vinyl  
*Features new cover artwork!    
*Lacquers cut at 33 1/3 rpm for the first time by original mastering engineer Jeff                 Powell, pressed on 2-140g records and comes in deluxe packaging with a                     booklet.
*Limited and individually numbered

Formed in 1982, Primal Scream met with middling success, while bouncing around band members and labels. Signing with Creation Records in 1985, the reviews began to improve. 
The band were first introduced to the acid house scene in 1988, and began attending raves. The band met up with DJ Andrew Weatherall at a rave, and he was given a copy of "I'm Losing More Than I'll Ever Have", a track from Primal Scream, to remix for one of his shows.  Weatherall added a drum loop from an Italian bootleg mix of Edie Brickell's "What I Am", a sample of Gillespie singing a line from Robert Johnson's "Terreplane Blues" and the central introductory sample from the Peter Fonda B-movie The Wild Angels.  The resulting track, "Loaded", became the band's first major hit, reaching number 16 on the UK Singles Chart. This was followed by another single, "Come Together", which reached number 19. The band entered the studio with Weatherall, Hugo Nicolson, The Orb and Jimmy Miller producing. They released two more singles, "Higher Than The Sun" and "Don't Fight It, Feel It" which featured the lead vocals of Manchester singer Denise Johnson. The album, Screamadelica, was released in late 1991 to positive reviews. The album was also a commercial success, reaching number eight on the UK chart. The album won the first Mercury Music Prize, beating Gillespie's former band The Jesus and Mary Chain. The band began work on their fourth album, Give Out But Don’t Give Up, in Roundhouse Studios in London in September 1992. In March 1994, the first single from the new album, "Rocks", was released. It was the band's highest-charting single to date, reaching number seven on the UK charts. The single was not received well, with NME calling them "dance traitors". The album, Give Out But Don't Give Up, was released in May to mixed reviews. Whereas some praised the band's new Rolling Stones-influenced sound, some dismissed the album as tired and drawing too heavily on their influences. Two more singles were released from the album, "Jailbird" and "(I'm Gonna) Cry Myself Blind", both of which charted progressively lower. While touring in support of the album, relations within the band began to wear down. The band's American tour, when they supported Depeche Mode, was, in the words of manager Alex Nightingale, "the closest we've come to the band splitting up." After the completion of the tour, the band remained quiet for a long period of time. The band went on to release 3 more records for Creation, 3 for Columbia Records and a few for independent labels. In August 2018 it was announced that the band would release the original long-lost recordings made for Give Out But Don't Give Up for the first time, which were made when the band went to Memphis's Ardent Studios in 1993 to work on a new album with producer Tom Dowd, engineer Jeff Powell and the Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section. This new, limited and numbered Run Out Groove edition features new cover art, a booklet, along with 3 LPs; 2 LPs worth of outtakes making their vinyl debut. 

Track Listing

Side A (original Tom Dowd album mix)
1 Jailbird 3:52
2 Rocks 3:51
3 Call On Me 3:28
4 Everybody Needs Somebody 6:06

Side B (original Tom Dowd album mix)
1 Sad and Blue 3:49
2 Big Jet Plane 5:32
3 Free 6:55

Side C (original Tom Dowd album mix)
1 Jesus 6:41
2 Cry Myself Blind 4:52

Side D (Ardent Outtakes)
1 Billy/To Love Somebody 4:48
2 Memphis Groove (improvised song jam) 5:12
3 Sad and Blue (early rehearsal jam) 2:30
4 Call On Me (monitor mix) 3:26
5 Big Jet Plane (early rehearsal jam/Tom Dowd instructions) 5:15

Side E (Ardent Outtakes)
1 Free (Bobby vocal/full band rehearsal jam) 5:46
2 Everybody Needs Somebody (alternate recording) 5:55
3 Blue Moon Of Kentucky/Trying To Get To You 1:22
4 Jailbird Guitar 1:08
5 Jesus (monitor mix) 7:15

Side F (Ardent Outtakes)
1 Funky Jam (original recording) 4:50
2 Free (early rehearsal sitar/piano/Bobby vocal) 4:58
3 Cry Myself Blind (monitor mix) / Big Jet Plane (sitar version) 9:43
4 All I Have To Do Is Dream 1:39

NEW SEALED 3 LP set with 2 LPs of outtakes from the sessions. Limited and Numbered! 

Share this Product

More from this collection