Welcome to the new and improved Orbit Records!
Cart 0
Pete Rugolo - Behind Brigitte Bardot - Music from her films

Pete Rugolo - Behind Brigitte Bardot - Music from her films

$ 21.99

Artist: Pete Rugolo | Label: WaxTime | Format: LP  |  Genre: Jazz | Vinyl Condition: Mint | Cover Condition: Sealed

Behind Brigitte Bardot
Cool Sounds from her Hot Scenes
180g LP set w/ download 

This long out of print LP by composer/arranger Pete Rugolo (1915-2011) comes from a period in which he alternated his arranging work for Stan Kenton (with whom he began collaborating in 1945), with his own personal projects. Behind Brigitte Bardot is an example of the latter. For this album, Rugolo reunited a true all star orchestra featuring some of the most outstanding jazz figures from the West Coast, including Pete Candoli, Jack Sheldon, Frank Rosolino, Bud Shank, Paul Horn, Buddy Collette, Larry Bunker,Buddy Clark, Mel Lewis and Joe Mondragon. Their presence obviously adds quality and swing to the session, making it certainly more interesting from a jazz point of view. According to All Music Guide reviewer Jason Ankeny, “the precise raison d’être behind the album is a mystery, but it’s nevertheless a charmer, boasting some of Pete Rugolo’s lushest and loveliest arrangements. Teamed with an all-star cast including altoist Bud Shank and trumpeters Jack Sheldon and Pete Candoli, Rugolo adapts themes like ‘Arsenic Blues’, ‘Mambo Bardot’ and ‘The Night Heaven Fell’ from their original cinematic context into wry, cool-toned jazz melodies heavy on innuendo and late-night appeal. Whatever the notion behind the session, the execution’s delightful

Recorded in Los Angeles, December 18, 1959.


01. JEFF’S BLUES from L’Homme et L’Enfant
02. MAMBO BARDOT from And God Created Woman
03. TELL ME SOMETHING SWEET [Dis-moi quelque-chose de gentil] from And God Created Woman
04. ARSENIC-BLUES from La Peau de L’Ours
05. PARIS B. B. from Una Parisienne


01. MANINA THEME from The Girl in the Bikini
02. A T’AIMER from Love Is My Profession
03. L’ETANG from Sans Familie
04. MA VIE EST A TOI from Le Grand Bluff
05. THE NIGHT HEAVEN FELL from The Night Heaven

NEW SEALED 180g import LP w/ thick gatefold jacket and download


Share this Product

More from this collection