Welcome to the new and improved Orbit Records!
Cart 0
Brian Wilson - Van Dyke Parks - Orange Crate Art DELUXE 2 LP set

Brian Wilson - Van Dyke Parks - Orange Crate Art DELUXE 2 LP set

$ 31.99

Artist: Brian Wilson & Van Dyke Parks |  Label: Omnivore  |  Format: 2xLP | Genre: Rock | Vinyl condition: Mint | Jacket condition: Sealed
• Liner notes by Brian Wilson and Van Dyke Parks.
• contains 3 previously unissued session outtakes
• First time on vinyl. In 1966, when Brian Wilson prepared the follow up to his masterpiece Pet Sounds, he employed the services of Mississippi born Van Dyke Parks as lyricist for The Beach Boys next album, SMiLE. As history would soon document, SMiLE became the most famous unreleased album in rock history, it’s “completion” not seeing daylight until a Grammy®-award winning box set in 2012. SMiLE’s original plan was to incorporate many different elements of American music in an avant-garde fashion, its musical format leaps and bounds ahead of anything that existed contemporaneously. As SMiLE quickly grew in legendary terms, Brian and Van Dyke each went their separate musical ways, only to reunite briefly in 1972 for The Beach Boys classic “Sail On Sailor.” So it was perhaps with great apprehension and excitement that these two musical giants should finally reunite in 1994 for some unfinished business. This time, however, the mission would be complete. The musical terrain familiar . . . a paeon to California . . . Omnivore Recordings is very proud to announce the release of the 25th anniversary special edition of Orange Crate Art by Brian Wilson and Van Dyke Parks. By 1994, the roles had been reversed and it was Van Dyke who coaxed Brian into the studio to be the singer of nearly a dozen new songs he had written as a tribute to his home away from home. Parks writes in the liner notes, “Though my roots are somewhere else, far away, my limbs are here in Southern California . . . it’s here . . . that I have struggled desperately for a sense of place . . . Orange Crate Art is a continuum of that which stood, freeze-frame, at the release of SMiLE. Twenty-five years on, this album which sounds like nothing before or since, has been majestically re-mastered by multi-Grammy® award winner Michael Graves. Available on vinyl for the very first time, the deluxe package contains three previously unreleased bonus tracks!. Orange Crate Art . . . before SMiLE . . . after SMiLE . . . it all makes sense now!

Songs are; 
Orange Crate Art
Sail Away
My Hobo Heart 
Wings of a Dove
Palm Tree and Moon
Summer in Monterey
San Francisco
Hold Back Time
My Jeanine
Movies is Magic
This Town Goes Down at Sunset
Rhapsody in Blue (Outtake) 
Our Love is Here to Stay (Outtake) 
What a Wonderful World (Outtake) 

NEW SEALED  2 LP re-issue with new liner notes & 3 bonus tracks!
first time on vinyl!! 

Share this Product

More from this collection