Welcome to the new and improved Orbit Records!
Cart 0
Ornette Coleman - The Atlantic Years - 10 LP Box Set complete Atlantic Recordings

Ornette Coleman - The Atlantic Years - 10 LP Box Set complete Atlantic Recordings

$ 166.99 $ 174.98

Artist: Ornette Coleman |  Label: Atlantic / Rhino  |  Format: 10xLP | Genre: Jazz | Vinyl condition: Mint | Bop Set condition: Sealed

Ornette Coleman  
The Atlantic Years 

an exclusive limited edition 10 LP box set that compiles his seminal Atlantic recordings! Ornette Coleman recorded one of the greatest bodies of work in 
jazz during a 22-month-long burst of creativity. Between 1959 and 1961, the saxophonist and composer released six studio albums on Atlantic Records that helped usher in the avant-garde, free jazz movement. 
Those albums, along more than two hours of session outtakes, are featured together in the 10-LP boxed set ORNETTE COLEMAN: THE ATLANTIC YEARS,  featuring newly remastered audio by John Webber at AIR Studios. 
Several of these titles are long out-of-print on vinyl. The Ornette Coleman Legacy, featuring six songs originally released for the first time in 1993 as part of Rhino’s CD boxed set Beauty Is A Rare Thing, making its vinyl debut.
On most of his Atlantic albums, Coleman recorded with a quartet that included trumpeter Don Cherry, plus either Charlie Haden or Scott LaFaro on bass, and either Billy Higgins or Ed Blackwell on drums. One notable exception is Free Jazz, a ground-breaking single-track album where Coleman led a double quartet through a nearly 40-minute collective improvisation. The stereo mix used for the album separates the quartets into different channels; one on the right and the other on the left. 
Coleman worked extensively with producer Nesuhi Ertegun on the music featured in this collection. Their partnership began in 1959 with Coleman’s Atlantic debut, The Shape of Jazz To Come, an album the Library of Congress added to its National Recording Registry in 2012.  
The LPs are presented in replica European-style 1960s jackets in a side-loading slipcase along with a 12 x 12 booklet with new liner notes written by renowned author-music critic Ben Ratliff, plus rare pictures taken by legendary jazz photographer Lee Friedlander.

The albums featured in the set are: 
The 6 released LPs
The Shape Of Jazz To Come (1959), 
Change Of The Century (1959), 
This Is Our Music (1960), 
Free Jazz: A Collective Improvisation (1960), 
Ornette On Tenor (1961), 

and the 4 later releases comprised of outtakes from the 6 original albums. 
The Art Of Improvisers
Twins (1971), 
To Whom Who Keeps A Record (1975), and 
The Ornette Coleman Legacy (1993.)

NEW SEALED 10 LP Box set 

Share this Product

More from this collection